Declaration of Paternity – Vital Records
Declaration of Paternity forms are protected forms not available to the public and may only be issued by a birth facility immediately following birth, the State Office of Vital Statistics and its designees.
SNHD is a designated agency.
As a designated agency SNHD must:
- Determine that the use of the Declaration of Paternity is appropriate
- Ensure the child was born in Clark County, Nevada and is under the age of 18 years
- Obtain valid identification from all signatories
- Provide written and oral/audio information concerning paternity
- Assist signatories in the completion of the Declaration of Paternity
- Review the legal rights and responsibilities
- Collect $10 fee in the form of credit/debit card or money order.
There are 3 ways to establish paternity of a child:
- Presumption by marriage
- Voluntary Acknowledgement, or
- Court order
A Declaration of Paternity form must only be used by the biological mother and the biological father. Any other use could subject the signatories to penalties of perjury and/or other criminal penalties. When completed the accepted Declaration of Paternity has the same effect as a court order establishing paternity.
Declaration of Paternity forms witnessed by a designated agency is not conclusive proof of a complete and successful voluntary acknowledgement of paternity. Many times, the documents are started, but not successfully completed.
Legal authority for the voluntary acknowledgement of paternity procedure and the Paternity form is found in:
- United States Code
- Title 42, Chapter 7, Subchapter IV, Part D, Section 666
- 42 USC 666 (a)(5) (C)
- Code of Federal Regulations
- Title 45, Subtitle B, Chapter III, Part 302
- 45 CFR 302.70 (a)(5)(iii)
- Nevada Revised Statutes
- Chapter 440, Section 283
Phone: (702) 759-1010
Updated on: March 16, 2021