/Vital Records

Vital Records

Birth Certificates
Death Certificates
In person application requests are suspended until further notice. All requests must be ordered and paid for online. You will receive a request to make payment after your request has been reviewed. All requests take 2-3 business days to process. 

Pick-up option available:

Your order must be completed and paid for online before you come to the building.

  • Pick up between  8:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. Monday-Friday, excluding holidays.
  • Requests are available for pick up once payment is made.
    • Pick up requests will be held for 5 business days from the date your payment is received.
    • Requests not picked up within that timeframe will automatically be mailed to the address listed within the application.
  • Only the person requesting the certificate online may pick up the certificate.
  • Only those requiring service will be allowed to enter the office.
  • Each individual must enter with a mask or face covering.
  • Each individual must enter with their photo identification.

Vital Records is Clark County’s repository for all birth and death records. In the State of Nevada these records are confidential. The distribution of birth and death certificates is regulated by Nevada Revised Statutes and the Nevada Administrative Code.

Valid identification is required to obtain a birth or death certificate.

  • Southern Nevada Health District Main Facility
    • 280 S. Decatur Blvd.
    • Submit requests online
    • Monday – Friday 8 a.m — 4:15 p.m

Important Notice: The Southern Nevada Health District Vital Records office has received an increased number of calls about third-party vendors selling birth, death. These companies charge customers high fees to “process” or “help apply” for certificates issued from the Department of Health. If you have ordered through one of these third-party companies and would like to file a consumer complaint, please call the State of Nevada Attorney General Bureau of Consumer Protection at (702) 486-3132 or toll free at (888) 434-9989. For more information please visit their website at the Bureau of Consumer Protection.

Birth Certificates: The health district has birth certificates for Clark County births from 1973 to the present. We can request Clark County birth certificates prior to 1973 on your behalf for an additional fee. Visit the Birth Certificates webpage for more information.

Declaration of Paternity: Vital Statistics will witness Declaration of Paternity documents Monday- Friday from 8:00 a.m — 3:00 p.m.

Death Certificates: The health district has death certificates for Clark County deaths from 1988 to the present. Visit the Death Certificates webpage for more information.

Personal checks are not accepted as payment for birth and death certificates. Cash, debit, Visa, MasterCard, money order, cashier’s checks, and business checks are accepted.

Birth Certificate Fees
(per request)
Purchase of First Certificate
$38.00*
Each Additional Copy
$25.00
Death Certificate Fees
(per request)
Purchase of First Certificate
$38.00*
Each Additional Copy
$25.00

*Fee includes $13 for registering certificates with the State Registrar. If you can provide documentation this fee has been paid previously, the Health District will waive it for future purchases.

Contact Information

Phone: (702) 759-1010

Updated on:  October 7, 2020

2020-10-07T16:28:43-07:00