Fingerprint Based Criminal History Criteria
The Office of EMS & Trauma System may approve your application and may grant you a certificate/license:
- If you have a minor event, minor traffic-related incident(s), minor criminal citation(s), and/or juvenile offense(s) that occurred within 7 years prior to application; or
- If you have three minor event(s) that occurred between 7-10 years prior to application; or
- If you have multiple minor event(s) that occurred more than 10 years prior to application.
Note: A “minor event” is defined as any conviction that is not a felony or one of the eight convictions listed below:
The Office of EMS & Trauma System will deny your application if you have any of the nine convictions listed below: *
- Murder, voluntary manslaughter or mayhem;
- Assault with intent to kill, sexual assault or mayhem;
- Sexual assault, statutory sexual seduction, incest, lewdness, indecent exposure or any other sexually related crime;
- Abuse or neglect of a child or contributory delinquency;
- A violation of federal or state law regulating the possession, distribution or use of any controlled substance or any dangerous drug as defined in Chapter 454 of NRS, within 7 years prior to application;
- A violation of any provisions of NRS 200.5099 or 200.50955, which outlines abuse, neglect, and exploitation of an older person or vulnerable person;
- Any conviction resulting from Medicare or Medicaid fraud or abuse or other conviction resulting in exclusion or debarment from participation in a federal or state health care program.
- Any offense involving fraud, theft, embezzlement, burglary, robbery, fraudulent conversion or misappropriation of property, within 7 years prior to application.
- Any other felony involving the use of a firearm or other deadly weapon, within 7 years prior to application.
* After receiving written notice that the Office of EMS & Trauma System has denied your application, you can appeal the denial by sending a letter requesting a review by the Health Officer. This must be done within 30 days after the denial notice is mailed to you.
Nevada Revised Statutes 450B, Nevada Revised Statutes 454, Nevada Administrative Code 450B, EMS Regulations,
National Registry of EMT’s Policy
Deferred Adjudication defined:
Deferred adjudication basically means that the final judgment in a situation has been deferred until a later time. Between the announcement of deferred adjudication and the time when final judgment will be announced, the charged individual is given the chance or opportunity to do something that will result in the crime not being listed as a “guilty” sentence on his or her record.
For many small or minor crimes, an individual who has maybe no prior arrests or convictions will be given the opportunity to keep his or her record clean through deferred adjudication. A judge will give an individual an opportunity to complete community service hours or an alcohol awareness class.
Deferred adjudication can be a plea bargain agreement between a defendant and the court. The final or formal judgment is withheld, postponed, or deferred until the end of a probation period. If the individual completes the probation period successfully, the charges are dismissed. In addition to the probation period, a person may have several conditions to meet that the court assigns.
Updated on: February 19, 2020