/Health District Announces 2010 11 Regional Trauma Advisory Board

Health District Announces 2010 11 Regional Trauma Advisory Board

July 2, 2010

LAS VEGAS – The Southern Nevada Health District today announced the members of the 2010-2011 Regional Trauma Advisory Board (RTAB). Standing members of the Board include the medical directors and program managers from each of the community’s designated trauma centers and the chair of the Medical Advisory Board. The non-standing members of the 15-member RTAB are appointed by the chief health officer to serve staggered two-year terms beginning July 1. The four new members appointed this year include, an administrator from a non-trauma center hospital, a person to represent health education and prevention services, an individual to represent medical benefit providers for trauma victims, and a person to represent the general public. In addition, one health district representative is included on the RTAB.

The members are:

Allen Marino, MD — Chair, Medical Advisory Board
Mary Ellen Britt, RN — Southern Nevada Health District/regional trauma coordinator
John Fildes, MD — University Medical Center/trauma medical director
Gregg Fusto, RN — University Medical Center/trauma program manager
Michael Metzler, MD — Sunrise Hospital & Medical Center/trauma medical director
Melinda Case, RN — Sunrise Hospital & Medical Center/trauma program manager
Sean Dort, MD — St. Rose Siena campus/trauma medical director
Kim Dokken, RN — St. Rose Siena campus/trauma program manager
Kimball Anderson — Southern Hills Hospital/non-trauma hospital administrator
Troy Tuke — Clark County Fire Department/public emergency care provider
Larry Johnson — MedicWest Ambulance/private, franchised emergency care provider
Wilbert Townsend — Southern Nevada Health District/health education and prevention services
Leslie Johnstone — Health Services Coalition/medical benefit providers
Melissa Vaher — representative for the general public
Yvonne Smith-Hoch — Rehab Without Walls/rehabilitation services

In addition, the alternates for the upcoming term are Sajit Pullarkat/Centennial Hills Hospital, Kate Osti who will represent the general public, and Michael Bernstein who will represent health education and prevention services.

The primary mission of the RTAB is to support the role of chief health officer to ensure a quality system of patient care for the victims of trauma by making recommendations and assisting in the ongoing design, operation, evaluation and revision of the system from initial patient access to definitive patient care.

Additionally, members monitor the distribution of trauma patients to ensure they are matched with the appropriate resources while still providing sufficient volume to each trauma center to maintain stability within the trauma system.

Updated information about the Southern Nevada Health District can be found on Facebook www.facebook.com/SouthernNevadaHealthDistrict, on YouTube www.youtube.com/SNHealthDistrict or Twitter : www.twitter.com/SNHDinfo.


Visit the Media Contacts webpage for media related inquiries.


The Southern Nevada Health District serves as the local public health authority for Clark County, Boulder City, Henderson, Las Vegas, Mesquite and North Las Vegas. The agency safeguards the public health of the community’s residents and visitors through innovative programs, regulations, and initiatives focused on protecting and promoting their health and well-being. More information about the Health District, its programs, services, and the regulatory oversight it provides is available at www.SNHD.info.