/Dietary Guidelines

Dietary Guidelines

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) in partnership with the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has developed dietary guidelines for Americans. The guidelines provide advice about how proper diet and exercise can promote health and reduce the risk of chronic diseases.

Food Groups

A well-balanced diet is a key to maintaining a healthy weight, as well as assuring your body is getting much needed nutrients. Fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and milk products are all important to a healthful diet and can be good sources of nutrients.

Here is a breakdown of the essential food groups and examples of what each one contains.

Grains Whole wheat bread and rolls, whole wheat pasta, English muffin, pita bread, bagel, cereals, grits, oatmeal, brown rice, unsalted pretzels and popcorn
FruitsApples, apricots, bananas, dates, grapes, oranges, grapefruit, grapefruit juice, mangoes, melons, peaches, pineapples, raisins, strawberries, tangerines, and 100% fruit juice
VegetablesBroccoli, carrots, green beans, green peas, lima beans, potatoes, spinach, squash, sweet potatoes and tomatoes.
Fat-free or low-fat milk and milk productsFat-free (skim) or low-fat (1%) milk or buttermilk, fat-free, low-fat or reduced-fat cheese, and fat-free or low-fat regular or frozen yogurt.
Lean meats, poultry, fish and beansBeef, poultry, pork, game meats, fish, shellfish, kidney beans, lentils and split peas.


The USDA created MyPlate, which provides key messages on how much and what foods to eat, in addition to guidelines on finding a balance between food intake and physical activity. Go to www.choosemyplate.gov to get started with MyPlate. The website features practical information and tips to help you build a healthier diet.

Visit our Eat Better webpages on our community education website www.gethealthyclarkcounty.org for more information.

Contact Information

(702) 759-1000

Updated on: August 16, 2018

Skip to content