

#### **MINUTES**

### EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES & TRAUMA SYSTEM (EMSTS)

## **DIVISION OF COMMUNITY HEALTH**

#### RTAB MEMBER NOMINATING COMMITTEE

April 19, 2023 - 2:00 P.M.

### MEMBERS PRESENT

Douglas Fraser, MD, UMC, Chairman
Lisa Rogge, RN, University Medical Center
Sean Dort, MD, St. Rose Siena Hospital
Chris Fisher, MD, Sunrise Hospital
John Recicar, RN, MOMMC
Amy Henley, Care Meridian
Maj. Stephanie Streit, MD, MOMMC
Erin Breen, UNLV
Maya Holmes, Payers of Medical Benefits
Sajit Pullarkat, Centennial Hospital

Sam Scheller, GEMS

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT**

Mike Barnum, MD, MAB Chairman

#### SNHD STAFF PRESENT

Stacy Johnson, Regional Trauma Coordinator Christian Young, MD, EMSTS Medical Director Jacques Graham, Administrative Secretary Michael Johnson, PhD, Dir. of Community Health Nicole Charlton, Recording Secretary

## **SNHD STAFF ABSENT**

John Hammond, EMSTS Manager

#### **PUBLIC ATTENDANCE**

Alexis Mussi Daniel Llamas
Jason Desai Dan Shinn
Billy Meyer Staci Sasso
Brett Olbur Carl James
Fernando Juarez Georgi Collins

#### CALL TO ORDER - ROLL CALL

The RTAB Member Nominating Committee convened in the Red Rock Trail Conference Room at the Southern Nevada Health District, located at 280 S. Decatur Boulevard, on April 19, 2023. Chairman Fraser called the meeting to order at 2:04 p.m. and the Affidavit of Posting was noted in accordance with the Nevada Open Meeting Law. Chairman Fraser noted that a quorum was present.

**I. <u>FIRST PUBLIC COMMENT</u>**: Members of the public are allowed to speak on Action items after the Committee's discussion and prior to their vote. Each speaker will be given five (5) minutes to address

the Committee on the pending topic. No person may yield his or her time to another person. In those situations where large groups of people desire to address the Committee on the same matter, the Chair may request that those groups select only one or two speakers from the group to address the Committee on behalf of the group. Once the action item is closed, no additional public comment will be accepted.

Chairman Fraser asked if anyone wished to address the Committee pertaining to items listed on the Agenda. Hearing no one, he closed the Public Comment portion of the meeting.

#### II. CONSENT AGENDA

Chairman Fraser stated the Consent Agenda consisted of matters to be considered by the RTAB Member Nominating Committee that can be enacted by one motion. Any item may be discussed separately per Committee member request. Any exceptions to the Consent Agenda must be stated prior to approval.

<u>Approve Minutes/Regional Trauma Advisory Board (RTAB) Nominating Committee Meeting:</u> 04/20/2022.

Chairman Fraser asked for approval of the minutes from the April 20, 2022 meeting. <u>A motion was made by Member Rogge, seconded by Member Fisher and passed by a majority vote to approve the minutes.</u>

#### III. REPORT/DISCUSSION/POSSIBLE ACTION

<u>Discussion of RTAB Member Applications for Non-Standing RTAB Member Seat for Terms Expiring</u> June 30, 2023

Chairman Fraser noted that the purpose of this meeting is to review the applications, make a recommendation to the RTAB and forward the RTAB's endorsements to the Chief Health Officer, for his final appointment.

Mrs. Johnson read the list of nominations made for each position.

Chairman Fraser requested a motion to be made accepting the nominations stated as such.  $\underline{A}$  motion was made by Member Fisher, seconded by Member Rogge, and passed by a majority vote to approve the nominations.

#### 1. Administrator from a non-trauma center hospital system

Chairman Fraser stated there were two candidates for consideration; Sajit Pullarkat and Alexis Mussi. Chairman Fraser directed Mrs. Johnson to call the roll for the Administrator from a non-trauma center hospital system.

Sajit Pullarkat	2 votes
Alexis Mussi	4 votes

Chairman Fraser requested a motion to be made for appointing the Administrator from a non-trauma center hospital system as Alexis Mussi. <u>A motion was made by Member Fisher, seconded by Member Malone, and passed by a majority vote to approve the appointment.</u>

#### 2. Public providers of advanced emergency care

Chairman Fraser stated that there was only one nomination received for the Public providers of advanced emergency care representative. Frank Simone is currently serving on the RTAB in this position and is seeking another two-year term.

Chairman Fraser requested a motion to be made for accepting the unopposed position of Public

providers of advanced emergency care representative as Frank Simone. <u>A motion was made by Member Fisher, seconded by Member Dort, and passed by a majority vote to approve the appointment.</u>

### 3. Private franchised providers of advance emergency care

Chairman Fraser stated there was only one nomination received for Private franchised providers of advance emergency care. Sam Scheller is currently serving on the RTAB in this position and is seeking another two-year term.

Chairman Fraser requested a motion to be made for accepting the unopposed position of Private franchised providers of advance emergency care representative as Sam Scheller. <u>A motion was made by Member Fisher, seconded by Member Dort, and passed by a majority vote to approve the appointment.</u>

#### 4. Rehabilitation Services

Chairman Fraser stated that there were two candidates for consideration; Amy Henley and Billy Meyer. Chairman Fraser directed Mrs. Johnson to call the roll for the Rehabilitation Services representative.

Amy Henley	4 votes
Billy Meyer	2 votes

Chairman Fraser requested a motion to be made for appointing the Rehabilitation Services representative as Amy Henley. <u>A motion was made by Member Fisher, seconded by Member Rogge</u>, and passed by a majority vote to approve the appointment.

### 5. Knowledge of system financing/funding

Chairman Fraser stated that there were two candidates for consideration; Jessica Colvin and Carl James. Chairman Fraser directed Mrs. Johnson to call the roll for the Knowledge of system financing/funding representative.

Jessica Colvin	4 votes
Carl James	2 votes

Chairman Fraser requested a motion to be made for appointing the Knowledge of system financing/funding representative as Jessica Colvin. <u>A motion was made by Member Fisher, seconded by Member Dort, and passed by a majority vote to approve the appointment.</u>

Alexis Mussi was declared elected by majority vote as Administrator from a Non-Trauma Hospital System.

Frank Simone was declared elected by majority vote as the Public Providers of Advanced Emergency Care Representative.

Sam Scheller was declared elected by majority vote as the Private Franchised Providers of Advanced Emergency Care Representative.

Amy Henley was declared elected by majority vote representing Rehabilitation Services.

Jessica Colvin was declared elected by majority vote representing Person with Knowledge of System Financing/Funding.

## IV. <u>INFORMATIONAL ITEMS/DISCUSSION ONLY</u>

None

# V. <u>SECOND PUBLIC COMMENT</u>

None

## VI. ADJOURNMENT

As there was no further business on the agenda, <u>Chairman Fraser called for a motion to adjourn.</u> The motion was made by Member Dokken, seconded by Member Rogge, and passed by majority vote to adjourn at 2:17 p.m.