Age, Safety & the Law
The Family Planning Clinic receives funding by the federal Title X program. Title X programs cannot require parent or guardian written consent for services to minors nor can they notify parents or guardians before or after a minor has requested and received services.
We encourage you to discuss your questions about sex or birth control with your parents. We know that conversation is often difficult to start. However, parents want to answer questions and teach their children how to be sexually responsible. If you want, we can help you to have that conversation with your parent. The law is on your side though — you don’t have to tell your parents until you’re ready.
Clients seeking treatment at the Family Planning Clinic should know that the health district is required to report cases involving assault or abuse to appropriate agencies. This includes consensual sexual activity (both you and your partner agree) between a person under the age of 16 and a person 18 or older, also known as statutory rape.
Hey, Is That Legal?
In Nevada, if you are 18 years old then you are legally an adult! The law does not prohibit you from having sex with a juvenile as long as they are not four years younger than you.
At age 17, you are not prohibited from having sex with whomever you want, as long as your partner is also a consenting individual, who is not four years younger than you.
In Nevada, at 16 years old you are not considered an adult, but you are now capable of fully consenting to sex.
At 15 years old, you are not able to fully consent to sex; however, it is not prohibited for you to have sex if your partner is between the age of 14 and 18.
In Nevada, a 14 year old is not able to legally consent to sex. You are not prohibited from engaging in sex as long as your partner is under the age of 18.
Anyone under the age of 14 cannot consent to sex. If a 13 year old does have sex with a person who is two or more years older, then the older person can be charged with sexual assault!
Updated on: May 24, 2019