

Clark County Health District • Public Information Office • 625 Shadow Lane, Las Vegas, NV 89106 • 385-1291

News Release

Contact: Jennifer Sizemore

(702) 383-1225

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Clark County District Board of Health elects new officers

(Las Vegas, Nev., - January 7, 2003) – The Clark County District Board of Health named its board officers and members for 2003. Councilman and Mayor Pro-tem Gary Reese of the City of Las Vegas is board chairman, Dr. Jim Christensen, physician member-at-large member, is vice-chairman and Clark County Commissioner Chip Maxfield is the secretary.

"It is an honor for me to serve as this year's Chairman of the Clark County District Board of Health. We will continue to enhance and develop our public health policies and respond to emerging public health challenges facing Clark County. Providing excellent leadership for a healthy community and meeting the public health needs of the people of Clark County are my goals," said Reese.

The Clark County District Board of Health is the public health policy board representing the entities of Boulder City, Clark County, Henderson, Las Vegas, North Las Vegas and Mesquite.

"We will be working hard this year to meet our many public health obligations to the community in a time of decreased budgets and increased responsibilities, such as planning for an act of bioterrorism," said Dr. Donald Kwalick, chief health officer for the health district.

Members of the board of health are:

- Councilwoman Andrea Anderson, City of Boulder City
- Sherry Colquitt, RN, Appointee City of Las Vegas
- Susan Crowley, Appointee City of Henderson
- Councilman Robert Eliason, City of North Las Vegas
- Councilwoman Donna Fairchild, City of Mesquite
- Councilman Paul Henderson, City of Mesquite
- Councilman Steven Kirk, City of Henderson
- Donalene Ravitch, RN, Appointee City of Boulder City
- Commissioner Rory Reid, Clark County
- Councilwoman Stephanie Smith, City of North Las Vegas

The thirteen-member board meets the fourth Thursday of every month and is composed of two elected and/or appointed representatives and a physician member-at-large elected by the board.